What is veganism? Well, the dictionary definition states it is “a person who does not eat or use animal products.” So, for example, vegans don’t eat meat, dairy or eggs. There is some debate on whether products like honey is vegan but, overall anything made from animals is not vegan. So what about eggs because animals aren’t killed for those? Well, many egg facilities kill the male chicks upon hatching. Also, hens are bred to lay eggs faster which can lead to many health problems even if they are free-range farms.
What is the history of veganism/vegetarianism? The term ̈vegan” was coined in 1944. But vegetarianism is first mentioned Pythagoras in around 500 BCE. Later in 1732 the Ephrata Cloister a religious group advocated for vegetarianism. In 1847 the first vegetarian society was founded. Then in 1944, Donald Watson announced that since vegetarians eat dairy and eggs he was going to create the term ̈vegan ̈ for people who don't consume any animal products. Which later he specified is pronounced vee-gan, not vee-Jan.
What are the types of vegans? There are dietary vegans, whole-food vegans, junk food vegans, raw food vegans and, low fat- raw food vegans. Dietary vegans are people who avoid animal products in their food but still use them in products like clothing or cosmetics. Whole food vegans theses people focus their diet on fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and seeds. Junk food vegans are people who rely heavily on processed foods such as frozen dinners and fake meat. Raw food vegans are a group of people who only eat raw foods or foods cooked below 118 degrees Fahrenheit. Low-fat raw food vegans limit high-fat foods and rely mostly on fruits.
Story by Maddy Peeples