Vegan and Vegetarian diets are often mixed up, but there is a significant difference between the two.
Vegetarian: A person who does not eat meat, especially for moral, religious, or health reason. Vegetarians use some animal products such as honey, eggs, and milk. Vegetarians have a plant-based diet. That means that they can eat dairy, and use other animal products. They just don’t eat meat. Some religions that are traditionally vegetarian are: Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, Taoism, Judaism, and Christianity. To be clear, these are all traditionally vegetarian religions. The modern day followers of these religions are not all vegetarian.
Vegan: A person who does not eat or use meat or animal products. Vegans don’t eat meat, use animal products, or eat dairy or any food that has to do with an animal. Some vegans do not even wear certain things because they categorize it as animal cruelty. Most people go vegan for the same reasons people go vegetarian. For moral, religious, or health reasons. Most of the religions that are traditionally vegetarian are also listed as vegan before they were vegetarian.
There are a lot of things that have animal products that a lot of people don’t know about. So if you don’t want to eat animal products, you should stay away from these things.
Then there are the obvious ones- such as milk, honey, eggs, meat etc.
If you are thinking about starting a vegan or vegetarian diet, here are some recipes to help you get started.
A recipe for a vegetarian meal is: Spicy Kale and Coconut Stir Fry.
A recipe for a vegan meal is: Easy Vegan Alfredo Pasta.
Story By: Tia Irby